What can happen if a busy Project Manager acts as a Scrum Master too?

    
 

   Yesterday, while going back home, I started talking with my co passenger. Luckily, I landed sitting next to a person who is a project manager & Scrum Master for two projects. We started speaking about various processes they follow in their organization and he said he is handling 2 projects.

Me: How big are your teams?

PM/SM: Hmm One is with 6 team members and the other one with 15 team members.

Me: huuh…I guess 6 will be the small and the happiest team and 15 will be little tough to handle for you..

PM/SM: yeah that’s true…It’s a big HEAD ACHE for me conduct daily stand ups..

Me: How about sprint length for both the teams?

PM/SM: For 6 members it is 2 weeks sprint and for the other team its 30 days length.

Me: Ohh Ok. Then how do conduct retrospective for both the teams?

PM/SM: For 2 weeks sprint I normally conduct along with the 1 month length sprint team, so that there is no need for me to WASTE TIME in retrospective.

   Then my bus stop came and I wished him GOOD LUCK and got down.

I guess here in this case the management made few mistakes first my assigning the PM as a Scrum Master. Secondly I felt that the person is doing the job as a scrum master feels it as an extra burden.

Thirdly he is not much interested in Conducting retrospective, the heart beat of scrum to improve the team performance in each sprint. I guess people who learn scrum through books and papers are doing the same thing in the rest of the world too. I guess management should stop doing the basic mistake of asking PM’s to become a Scrum Master. In some case this may work. BUT in most of the cases it will be the other way around.

This entry was posted in Agile. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

